This page was printed from

AATCC honors Prof. Martin Bide with Chapin Award

Industry News | May 12, 2010 | By:

AATCC will honor University of Rhode Island professor Martin John Bide as the 2009 recipient of The Harold C. Chapin Award in recognition for his outstanding service to the association. Bide will receive the Chapin Scroll at an awards luncheon on May 19, during the association’s 2010 International Conference at the Georgia World Congress Center (GWCC) in Atlanta, Ga., U.S.A.

A member of AATCC since 1982, Martin Bide has served with distinction in the technical, publications, and administrative functions of AATCC. He served as president of the association from 2007 through 2008, and now serves on the Board of Directors and the Foundation Board of Directors, and chairs the Appropriations Committee.

Bide is also active with AATCC on local and regional levels. He served as chair, vice chair, and national councilor of the Rhode Island Section from 1989 to 1997, prior to the merger of the Rhode Island and northern New England sections. He then served as vice president of the New England region from 2001 to 2003.

The Chapin Award was established in 1958 in honor of Harold C. Chapin, professor of chemistry at Lowell Textile School, who served as national secretary of AATCC for nearly 25 years. Chapin was a contemporary of Louis Atwell Olney, founder and first president of AATCC.


Share this Story

Leave a Reply