This page was printed from

March 19 deadline for new award entry

Industry News | March 17, 2014 | By:

Techmer PM sponsors Royal Society of Arts inaugural Bill Moggridge Award

Techmer PM, Clinton, Tenn., a leading producer of value-added colors and additives for the plastics and fiber industries, has announced its sponsorship of the first annual Bill Moggridge Award for Interdisciplinary Design. The award is part of the Royal Society of Arts U.S. (RSA) Student Design Awards (SDAs) and is one of four given out by SDAs founding sponsor Techmer PM.

The Bill Moggridge Award for Interdisciplinary Design, named after the late Bill Moggridge, global design firm IDEO founder and design visionary, will be awarded annually to a project that draws from two or more design disciplines and demonstrates vision, ingenuity, beauty, sustainability and development potential.

Bill Moggridge designed the first laptop, founded IDEO, and was director of the Smithsonian Cooper Hewitt Design Museum. In his lifetime, he received many awards, including Royal Designer for Industry, the Prince Philip Designers Prize, and Cooper-Hewitt’s National Design Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Less well known is the fact that Bill Moggridge won an RSA Student Design Award in London a half-century ago. He was glad to see the SDAs launched in the United States last year, and he stood ready to support the program as a past winner and a life Fellow of the RSA. Karin Moggridge, his wife of 48 years, said, “Bill would be honored to have his name put on this award for students. He was always passionate about design education.”

Techmer PM, which focuses on materials design for a better world, is committed to the ongoing support of the SDAs, including the Bill Moggridge Award. John Manuck, CEO of Techmer PM, said, “Bill Moggridge’s body of work and ideas made him a pioneer whose influence will be recognized for decades in the fields of industrial design and technology. We are pleased to honor his work through the Bill Moggridge Award for Interdisciplinary Design, recognizing design excellence and innovation in American universities.”

Final judging and the awards ceremony will take place on April 25 and 26 in New York. The deadline to enter is March 19, 2014.


Share this Story

Leave a Reply