This page was printed from

Former association president and Olney Medal winner named AATCC treasurer

Industry News | April 2, 2013 | By:

Warren S. Perkins, former president of AATCC and textile industry chemist and professor, has been elected by the association’s board of directors to serve as AATCC treasurer.

John Y. “Jack” Daniels, executive vice president of AATCC, stated that he and the other officers and board of directors are pleased that Perkins has agreed to accept this five-year volunteer position.

“With the association’s global membership, sales of test methods and quality control materials to approximately 60 countries, 30-plus international test method trainers, and many international symposia and joint conferences, the position of treasurer has become increasingly important due to the complexities of revenues and expenses associated with these many diverse activities,” Daniels said. “Warren’s tremendous knowledge and past history with AATCC will serve the association very well as he takes over this key position in our organization.”

Daniels added that this is especially true given the fact that the association’s outlook and position among textile, apparel, and materials scientists and technologists has changed dramatically over its 91-year history. AATCC has expanded from its original mission as a society for textile colorists and chemists to one representing three major textile industry interest groups: Chemical Applications, Concept 2 Consumer®, and Materials.

Perkins joined AATCC in 1966 while a student at Clemson University. He has earned awards and accolades from industry peers, including the association’s Olney Medal, AATCC’s oldest, most distinguished scientific award, in 1999. The Olney Award and accompanying medal are awarded annually in recognition of an individual’s outstanding contribution to the textile industry, whether through research in textile or polymer chemistry or in other fields of chemistry important to textiles. In 1998, Perkins received AATCC’s Chapin Award, established in 1958 in honor of Dr. Harold C. Chapin, AATCC’s secretary for 25 years and a contemporary of the organization’s founder, Dr. Louis Atwell Olney. The Chapin Award was given to Perkins in recognition of his outstanding service to the association. Perkins also received the Marvin R. Cross Award in 1967 from Clemson University, and was named outstanding faculty member twice by the College of Engineering at Auburn University.

Perkins is a respected industry leader who has helped guide AATCC through many changes. From the beginning of his career as a textile chemist and professor, the association played a significant role in his work life. In return, he has dedicated many hours of personal time to the association, from serving as president of Clemson’s AATCC student chapter in 1967 to serving as the association’s president from 1991 to ’92. He was also vice-president of AATCC’s Southern Region from 1984 to 1986, and has been chair, national councilor, chair of the Standing Research Committee, and section committeeman for the association’s Southeastern Section.

Other roles Perkins has served within the association include chair or member of several research and administrative committees including Textile Education, Applied Dyeing Theory, and the Committee on Conferences. In 1986, he became a life member of the association, and currently serves on AATCC’s Building and Grounds Committee.

A native of Elloree, S.C., Perkins received his BS in 1967 and MS in 1969 in textile chemistry from Clemson University. In 1968, he was hired as a faculty member in the department of textile engineering at Auburn, and during that time participated in industry internships with WestPoint Pepperell, United Merchants and Manufacturers, and Clinton Mills. In 1995, he joined the University of Georgia and earned Emeritus status upon leaving Auburn.

Perkins has published over 100 research and technical papers, presented over 90 papers at meetings of technical and scientific societies, and authored or co-authored several books. He is a member of the Chattahoochee Valley Chapter of Phi Psi Professional Fraternity.

He and his wife, Kathryn Judy Perkins of Bowman, S.C., reside in Murfreesboro, Tenn.

AATCC is the world’s leading not-for-profit textile professional association. It has been serving textile professionals since 1921. Headquartered in Research Triangle Park, N.C., USA, AATCC provides test method development, quality control materials, educational programs, award-winning textile literature, and professional networking for its members around the world.

Source: AATCC

Share this Story

Leave a Reply