This page was printed from

IFAI Expo 2016: industry leadership, IFAI style

Features | December 1, 2016 | By: , , , ,

At IFAI’s annual meeting, Kevin Yonce, MFC, IFM, CPP, past chairman of the IFAI Board of Directors and chairman of the 2016 Leadership Development Committee, announced this year’s election results.   

• Dennis Bueker, Keyston Bros., has been elected to his second three-year term as director. 

• Brian Rowinski, Rainier Industries LLC, has been elected to his second three-year term as director, as well.

• Roy Chism, The Chism Company Inc., has been elected to his first three-year term as director.

• David Segal, Edward Segal Inc., has been appointed to serve out the remaining two-year director term, which became available as a result of the resignation of former director Boyd Ramsey.

Individuals retiring from the IFAI Board of Directors were also recognized: Bob Rosania, CPP, IFM, Ehmke Mfg. Co. Inc., has served on the board since 2010 as director and as second vice chair. Boyd Ramsey, GSE Environmental HQ, joined the board as director in 2012 and served one three-year term before his resignation this past June.

Outstanding volunteers 

In 2012 IFAI developed a special recognition program called the Outstanding Volunteer Award, designed to acknowledge a handful of volunteers who go above and beyond each year. Five individuals have been chosen to receive this year’s Outstanding Volunteer Award:

Amit Kapoor, First Line Technology, was nominated for his tireless efforts serving on the Advanced Textile Products advisory board and for driving the group to develop quality webinars that serve to educate and inform ATP members.

Keith Gardner, Crown Resources, was nominated for his efforts in ensuring that the Geosynthetics Materials Association is active in addressing industry challenges. He has had a positive impact on member retention and division growth.

Mike Gatti, Herculite Products, was nominated for his unequivocal leadership and willingness to go above and beyond his vice chairman duties to volunteer wherever needed, at a moment’s notice. Whether it was calling attendees to help them navigate registration for the Sewing Workshop or answering a PAMA member’s question, he always acts in a way that helps to strengthen and elevate the visibility of the Professional Awning Manufacturers Association.

Ron Paratore, Trivantage LLC, was nominated for his efforts, through his selfless leadership, in expanding the programming offered by the Professional Awning Manufacturers Association, strengthening and enhancing its membership.

Mark Welander, MFC, Fabricon LLC, was nominated for his enthusiastic leadership of the Fabric Structures Association’s “Educate the Educators” program, and also for his involvement and engagement by participating on several board committees and judging several industry award competitions.

Thanks to all our 2016 top volunteers!

IFF Scholarship winners

The Industrial Fabrics Foundation (IFF) ( will grant funds for research and scholarships; educate the public and provide information regarding specialty fabrics; and engage in other charitable educational activities approved by the IFF Board of Directors. Several scholarships are awarded each year to students enrolled in accredited colleges, universities or technical schools. Recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement, community service, and interest in a future career in the specialty fabrics industry.

The applications are available each January with the submission deadline in June for use in the following school year. Scholarships are paid directly to the students’ schools for fall semester tuition. These four students have each received a $5,000 scholarship:

Textile Industry Engineering Scholarship, given to students studying chemical engineering and material science, textile science and engineering, fiber science or civil engineering with geosynthetics: Imran Iqbal, Philadelphia University.

Textile Industry Product Design Scholarship, given to students in industrial design, product development and soft goods design and any textile end product-related program: Emma Yacovelli, North Carolina State.

Textile Industry Architectural Design Scholarship, awarded to architecture and design students, or those in any textile building application program: Naja Shabazz, O’More College of Design.

Textile Industry Don Williams Scholarship, given to students in any textile-related program: Amatullah Foushee, Fashion Institute of Technology.

Share this Story

Leave a Reply